Thursday, June 7, 2018

Review - @LRWLee - Rock-A-Bye Baby by L.R.W. Lee (The Sand Maiden #2)

Rock-A-Bye Baby
The Sand Maiden #2
by L.R.W. Lee

Goodreads blurb:  Winds Blowing. Boughs Breaking. A Cradle Falling. Can the Sand Maiden Prevent Disaster?

Alissandra, an immortal Sand Maiden, and daughter of the king, has always been close to her father despite being one of twenty-two children. She’s put him on a pedestal and sought to make him proud of her as she weaves the dreams of her many mortal charges helping them make sense of thoughts that need refinement, problems that need solutions, worries that beg for action, and things they should or shouldn’t have said.

But with her latest charge, she starts to sense that her father isn't all she dreams he is. It's hard to accept that the parent you love isn't perfect, but how do you do it when he's a god? How far do you let him push before you say no? And how far do you go to push back?

The Sand Maiden is a four-book NA Epic Fantasy Paranormal Romance series with YA appeal. If you loved Sarah J. Maas' A Court of Thorns and Roses, Elise Kova's Air Awakens, and/or Rachel E. Carter's The Black Mage you'll definitely love this.

WARNING: This book will empower those who say #MeToo but contains mature content including sexual abuse. Recommended for 18+. 

About the Author:  Since the age of eight, L. R. W. Lee wanted to write a children’s book, but felt she did not have anything significant to share; she sought to change lives while entertaining. A degree in Accounting did not provide riveting fodder for a best seller, so she waited. Over a decade, she founded and grew a company, during which, she worked closely with a mentor from whom she learned uncommon thinking that changed her life. After selling her business in early 2012, she had time to write and, more importantly, something significant to share.

L. R. W. Lee lives in scenic Austin, TX with her husband, daughter and son.

Connect with L.R.W.:

My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 Unicorns - I really liked it!!!

***I choose what I read and review based on what intrigues me!!  Yes, I got a review copy of this book, but no one tells me what to think, feel, or write about any book!  I do own this book and book 1 in the series!

The cover is beautiful!

This is a prequel in the Sand Maiden series!  I do think that you should read book 1 first in my opinion which is the order written.  Prequels are hard to decide if you should read first or in the order written, but I think you should decide for yourself.  This is for adults as it does hit on sensitive topics like rape.

I loved reading about Ali’s life in Dream realm, and it helps you understand more about her and what was happening before she went to Wake realm.  The only thing that is a little confusing is when the book is jumping time periods, but the dates in the parentheses do help you sort it out better.

I love Ali’s passion for her family and her dream charges.  There was a lot going on in her past when she was immortal.  I think I initially forgot about that because in Wake she is just a young lady.  The author does a great job taking you on an emotional journey with Ali.  I enjoyed reading and learning more about the Dream realm and Ali’s family which is big 😊

I recommend this book to all the Lullaby fans because you will want to learn more about Ali’s past and to all the fans who want a fantasy about the Sand Man and his family!  I can’t wait to get back to what is currently happening in Wake realm!!

Interested in reading???

See my review of Lullaby (Book 1)

Interested in Andy Smithson series!!!

See my review of Power of the Heir’s Passion (Book 0)
See my review of Blast of the Dragon’s Fury (Book 1)
See my review of Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning (Book 2)
See my review of Disgrace of the Unicorn’s Honor (Book 3)
See my review of Resurrection of the Phoenix’s Grace (Book 4)
See my review of Vision of the Griffin’s Heart (Book 5)
See my review of Wisdom of the Centaurs' Reason (Book 6)
See my review of Battle for the Land’s Soul (Book 7)

Omnibus of Books 1 – 3

Omnibus of Books 4 – 6

No comments:

Post a Comment