Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Review @valeromance - Awakening the Bear by Catherine Vale (Taste of Honey #2)

Awakening the Bear
Taste of Honey #2
by Catherine Vale

Goodreads blurb:  Homicide Detective, Ben Walker thinks he has seen it all. That is, until a murder investigation sets him on the wrong side of the Stonewall Gang, and he finds himself pinned down in an alley, fighting for his life.

When he wakes up, he is a very different man. In fact, he's hardly a man at all. His beast is lurking beneath the surface, desperate to come out and play. Before too long, he finds himself drawn into a world where the lines between shadowy myth, and harsh reality are blurred.

But there's one thing Ben knows for certain. The mysterious redhead beauty that shows up at his clan's door isn't your everyday woman. She's a rogue were-bear, an untamable shifter, and one of the most intriguing creatures he's ever laid eyes on. There's just one thing standing in his way. And it smells like murder.

Note To Readers: The Taste Of Honey series is a standalone set where every book offers one complete story. There are cross-over characters in every book, but no cliffhangers. It also doesn’t matter in which order you read the books. Enjoy! 

About the Author:  Catherine Vale has been writing fiction for as long as she can remember, but it wasn’t until she wrote her very first paranormal romance story that she found herself hooked on the raw, edgy love affair of shifters, vampires and other dominant alpha males and the captivating women that love them.

Catherine Vale writes both contemporary and paranormal romance for readers who are willing to take a walk on the wild side of love.  Her stories always include powerful alpha males, smart and sassy heroines and a happily-ever-after (even if she often put her characters through hell to get there!)

Connect with Catherine:

My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 Unicorns - I really liked it!!!

The cover is definitely steamy and fits with the book :)

I bought this book back in April.  This book is part of the Taste of Honey series, and it has about 120 pages.  It is for adults only due to the steamy content and violence.

This story is primarily about Ben, but Raven is a significant part of the book too!  You can read the blurb, so I’m not going to restate what happens, but Ben likes to beat himself up and take the guilt where there should be none.  Raven is a kick butt werebear, and I really liked this character.  I love a girl who can take care of herself but will let others take care of her or let them help her.  She rocks.  This story has quite a bit of action, and I enjoyed it a lot.  The ending made me growl though because it didn’t happen the way I wanted.  I hope I see more of Ben and Raven in the future.

I recommend this book to all the shifter readers out there especially if you have read Catherine’s work before and liked it!!

Interested in reading???

See my reviews of other books by Catherine Vale
On the Prowl (Jagged Lovers #1)
On the Move (Jagged Lovers #2)
On the Edge (Jagged Lovers #3)
Her Two Bears (Her Two Bears #1)
Bear the Heat (Bear Instincts #1)
A Taste of Honey (Taste of Honey #1)
Tigers Tango (Guardian Shifter #1)
Double Trouble (Her Two Bears #2)


No comments:

Post a Comment